Don’t Call Us Dead by Danez Smith || Book Review

Award-winning poet Danez Smith is a groundbreaking force, celebrated for deft lyrics, urgent subjects, and performative power. Don’t Call Us Dead opens with a heartrending sequence that imagines an afterlife for black men shot by police, a place where suspicion, violence, and grief are forgotten and replaced with the safety, love, and longevity they deserved […]

Read More

Fable By Adreinne Young || Book Review

For seventeen-year-old Fable, the daughter of the most powerful trader in the Narrows, the sea is the only home she has ever known. It’s been four years since the night she watched her mother drown during an unforgiving storm. The next day her father abandoned her on a legendary island filled with thieves and little […]

Read More

Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur || Book Review

After a disastrous blind date, Darcy Lowell is desperate to stop her well-meaning brother from playing matchmaker ever again. Love—and the inevitable heartbreak—is the last thing she wants. So she fibs and says her latest set up was a success. Darcy doesn’t expect her lie to bite her in the ass. Elle Jones, one of […]

Read More

Heartstopper: Volume Three by Alice Oseman || Book Review

Oseman’s graphic novel series puts me in such a happy and nostalgic mood; the beautiful and blossoming relationship between Nick and Charlie just melts my heart! The third volume is my FAVOURITE in the series so far … the change in scenery was a really fun surprise! And the focus on more of the side […]

Read More

Let’s Talk About Love by Claire Kann || Book Review

Yes … I FINALLY got around to reading Kann’s Let’s Talk About Love! The book blogging sphere seemed to have really positive thoughts about this book, so I had to give it a chance. Honestly, it’s so wholesome and adorable … once I got into the story, I couldn’t put it down. I think romance is […]

Read More

Her Royal Highness by Rachel Hawkins || Book Review

“And yes, sometimes you make me crazy, and we’re definitely going to have to talk about the whole high-handed thing, but . . . it’s worth it. You’re worth it.” Synopsis: Millie Quint is devastated when she discovers that her sort-of-best friend/sort-of-girlfriend has been kissing someone else. And because Millie cannot stand the thought of […]

Read More

The Gentleman’s Guide to Getting Lucky by Mackenzi Lee || Book Review

“Then maybe I should have said it to you sooner–you needn’t hide around us. I’m sorry you ever felt you had to. And that the world makes you feel as though you have to.” Synopsis: In this funny and frothy novella that picks up where the New York Times bestselling The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice […]

Read More

Heartstopper: Volume Two by Alice Oseman || Book Review

Synopsis: Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie’s gay, and […]

Read More

Heartstopper: Volume One by Alice Oseman || Book Review

“You can’t tell whether people are gay by what they look like. And gay or straight aren’t the only two options.” Synopsis: Charlie, a highly-strung, openly gay over-thinker, and Nick, a cheerful, soft-hearted rugby player, meet at a British all-boys grammar school. Friendship blooms quickly, but could there be something more…? Charlie Spring is in […]

Read More

The Infinite Noise by Lauren Shippen || ARC Review

“And then—just when I was hoping a dam would burst—the wall just dissolves, letting the blue-green wash over me, clearing out the muck in my veins for the first time in months.” Synopsis: Caleb Michaels is a sixteen-year-old champion running back. Other than that his life is pretty normal. But when Caleb starts experiencing mood […]

Read More